Close Icon

Enter your mobile number

or Scan the QR Code Scan the QR Code

Who is the Owner of SRH in Indian T20 2024?

By First Games Team April 12, 2024

The Indian T20 is back, and the battle for cricket glory is upon us! With a vibrant mix of international superstars and domestic talents, the tournament explodes onto the scene with electrifying matches and passionate fan support. But amidst this battle royale, one team stands out for its strategic prowess and fearless spirit – the Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH)!

Indian Premier League (Indian T20)

The Indian Premier League (Indian T20) is the pinnacle of Twenty20 cricket in India. Launched in 2008, it has become a global phenomenon, attracting the biggest names in the sport and captivating audiences worldwide. With its fast-paced action, high-scoring matches, and extravagant opening ceremonies, the Indian T20 is more than just cricket – it's a cultural extravaganza.

Introduction to Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH)

The Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) are a force to be reckoned with in the Indian T20. Established in 2012, they've carved a niche for themselves with their aggressive brand of cricket and a knack for unearthing hidden talent. Despite being a relatively young team, the Orange Army, as they are fondly called by their fans, boast a rich history, having lifted the Indian T20 trophy in 2016.

Who is The Owner Of Sunrisers Hyderabad

The owner of Sunrisers Hyderabad is the powerful media conglomerate, Sun TV Network.  At the helm of this vast network sits Kalanithi Maran, the chairman and founder.  While Kalanithi Maran stays somewhat behind the scenes during Indian T20 matches, his daughter, Kaviya Maran, the CEO of Sun TV Network, is a passionate and visible presence.  Often seen at games and actively involved in team decisions, Kaviya Maran embodies the strong family connection behind the ownership of Sunrisers Hyderabad.

Sunrisers Hyderabad in Indian T20

Founded in 2012, the Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) entered the Indian T20 arena with a rich legacy to uphold – that of the Deccan Chargers. However, they were not merely content with the past. Fueled by a fresh vision and a burning ambition, SRH, under the ownership of the illustrious Sun Group led by Kalanithi Maran, embarked on a journey to etch their name in Indian T20 history.

The initial seasons presented their share of challenges, but the Orange Army, as they are fondly called, persevered. Adversity only strengthened their resolve, and under the guidance of astute leaders like Kumar Sangakkara and Darren Sammy, SRH transformed into a force to be reckoned with.  Their determination culminated in a glorious moment in 2016.  Led by the explosive David Warner, they captured their maiden Indian T20 title, proving their mettle on the biggest stage and announcing themselves as a true contender in the Indian T20 landscape.

Also Read: The Highest-Paid Player in the Indian T20 Revealed

Brand Value of Sunrisers Hyderabad

The Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) are a name synonymous with exciting cricket and passionate fans in the Indian T20.  While their on-field performance may have dipped slightly in recent years, their brand value remains strong.  However, a recent decline requires addressing. In 2023, SRH's brand value dipped to ₹401 crore, a 1% decrease from the previous year.

This can be attributed to a less-than-stellar performance on the pitch.  However, the franchise boasts a loyal fanbase and a reputation for nurturing young talent.  Furthermore, they possess arguably the strongest overseas player contingent in the league. Looking ahead, SRH is poised for a rebound.

With a talented squad and a renewed focus on winning, they have the potential to not only reclaim their place at the top of the Indian T20 table but also see their brand value rise once again.  The upcoming season will be crucial in determining the trajectory of their brand, with their principal sponsor, FanCraze, undoubtedly watching closely.

Sunrisers Hyderabad Indian T20 Stats 2013-2023

Here are the statistics of SRH from 2013 to 2023, illustrating the team's performance over these years.

Indian T20 Season Position Performance
2013 4th Lost in Eliminator to Rajasthan Royals
2014 6th Missed playoffs by two points
2015 6th Failed to qualify for playoffs
2016 Winner Defeated RCB in the final
2017 3rd Lost in Eliminator to Kolkata Knight Riders
2018 Runner-up Lost to Chennai Super Kings in the final
2019 4th Lost in Eliminator to Delhi Capitals
2020 3rd Lost in Qualifier 2 to Delhi Capitals
2021 8th Finished last in the table
2022 8th Finished 8th in the table
2023 10th Finished last in the table

Cricket Fanatics, Assemble! Win BIG with First Games Fantasy This Indian T20!

The Indian T20 is back, bigger and bolder than ever!  Think you have the cricket knowledge to dominate?  Prove it with First Games Fantasy!

Download the app, draft your dream Indian T20 team, and battle other cricket enthusiasts for a shot at massive cash prizes.  Go beyond watching - play the game with First Games Fantasy Cricket. Download now and experience the Indian T20 like never before!

Sunrisers Hyderabad Indian T20 2024 Squad

While the core of the SRH squad remains familiar, there's also an exciting injection of new talent ready to make their mark.  Get ready to see these players take the field for the Orange Army:

Pat Cummins (captain), Abdul Samad, Abhishek Sharma, Aiden Markram, Marco Janssen, Rahul Tripathi, Washington Sundar, Glenn Phillips, Sanvir Singh, Heinrich Klaasen, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mayank Agarwal, T. Natarajan, Anmolpreet. Singh, Mayank Markandey, Upendra Singh Yadav, Umran Malik, Nitish Kumar Reddy, Fazalhaq Farooqui, Shahbaz Ahmed, Travis Head, Wanindu Hasaranga, Jaydev Unadkat, Akash Singh, Jhatved Subramanian.

Also Read: How Many Points to Qualify in Indian T20? Find Out Here!

Sunrisers Hyderabad: A Look at Their Indian T20 2024 Start

The Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) have taken Indian T20 2024 by storm, currently sitting comfortably in fifth place after a string of impressive performances. Their season kicked off with a bang, setting a new Indian T20 record for the highest total ever scored (277/3) against the Mumbai Indians.

While they narrowly missed out on a win against Kolkata Knight Riders despite chasing a mammoth 209-run target, their fighting spirit was undeniable.

A slight setback came in the form of a loss to the Gujarat Titans, but SRH bounced back with consecutive victories against Chennai Super Kings (CSK) and Punjab Kings (PBKS). Youngster Nitish Reddy's phenomenal 64-run knock against PBKS solidified their third win of the season. With a potent blend of experience and youthful exuberance, the Orange Army has surprised many with their early dominance. They are a team to watch as the Indian T20 continues to unfold.


Download App